Japan vs Russia Live

Japan vs Russia  Live For the first time ever, Japan is playing host to the Rugby World Cup, so it only makes sense that its own team would be featured in the inaugural match. Yes, Japan’s Brave Blossoms are taking on Russia today (September 20) in the first event of the month-plus tournament. Neither team has been a favorite for the Webb Ellis Cup, but this match gives them a chance to start the show with a statement win. Here’s how to live stream the Rugby World Cup online!

Watch Live here 

While the team from Russia (only barely) lost to Japan last November, its qualification for this year’s tournament wasn’t that strong. The team is only showing up this year because Spain and Belgium were DQ’d over fielding ineligible players (reminds me of that Homer Simpson quote “The two sweetest words in the English language! De fault De fault!”

Streaming options vary greatly, based on where you are, and cost a lot in the U.S.. Even Aussies, though, will need to pay extra for the Rugby World Cup Pass. Here’s our guide to watching the 2019 Rugby World Cup online.

What’s the format of the Rugby World Cup 2019?
Japan and Russia are two of the 20 teams that begin the tournament, and they’re broken up between 4 pools (of 5 teams each). Pool play consists of round-robin style matches, with each team playing one of the other teams in its pool once.

After those 10 games in each pool, the two teams with the top records from each pool will compete in quarter finals, where you’ve only got one shot to make it through.

How to live stream Japan vs Russia in the Rugby World Cup 2019 in the U.S.
Japan vs Russia will be broadcast on both the NBC Sports channel and the NBC Sports Gold streaming service. Top live TV services with NBC Sports include PlayStation Vue (our favorite overall), Hulu with Live TV (good for exclusive original shows) and fuboTV (all the sports you can get, minus ESPN).

NBC Sports Gold pricing starts at $29.99 for live (and on-demand) streams for single matches. Most, though, will want to spend at least $199 for the Rugby World Cup Pass, as it includes all 48 matches (both live and on-demand).

True rugby obsessives probably already have the $229 All-Access Premium Rugby Pass. That extra $30 gets you season-long access to the 2019-20 Rugby Pass (with a metric ton of other matches, including the Six Nations Championship, EPCR, Premiership Rugby League).

How to live stream Japan vs Russia in the Rugby World Cup 2019 in the U.K.
Japan vs Russia is one of the 38 matches taking place on ITV, which is free. Yeah, if you can believe it, folks in the U.K. get to live stream the Rugby World Cup for free. That’s because it’s an ITV exclusive over there, and that service has no price attached.

38 matches take place on ITV while the other 10 are on ITV 4. The breakdown of which games are on which channels can be found in our schedule.

How to live stream Japan vs Russia in the Rugby World Cup 2019 in the Australia
Japan vs Russia is one of the games that Aussies don’t need to pay for, it’s going to be free, on Channel 10 (and via the 10 Play app). That service will also get all of the Wallabies games — plus a pair of quarter finals games, the semis and the final.

Japan vs Russia

Japan vs Russia Rugby World Cup finally gets underway this morning and you can follow live coverage of both the opening ceremony and Japan vs Russia below. The 2019 Rugby World Cup finally gets underway this morning and you can follow live coverage of both the opening ceremony and Japan vs Russia below.

The spectacular opening ceremony at the Tokyo Stadium promises to “draw on deeply symbolic Japanese cultural references to illustrate the passion, expectation and excitement the people of Japan have for the tournament”. The events will begin with an exhibition flight by Blue Impulse, the aerobatics squadron of the Japanese Air Self Defence Force.

After that, the tournament will finally begin as host nation Japan take on relative rugby minnows Russia. You can follow live updates from Japan below:

Japan will be captained by Michael Leitch, the talisman of that famous victory over the Springboks in 2015. There is bad news for the Cherry Blossoms, however, in that wing Kenki Fukuoka and back row Amanaki Mafi will miss the match, having both picked up injuries in the defeat by South Africa earlier this month.

When does the tournament start?
The opening match follows the opening ceremony, with hosts Japan opening the tournament against Russia on Friday 20 September.

The match will start at 11:45 BST.

Where can I watch in the UK?
You can watch each game on ITV, while Indy Sport will have you covered with live blogs if you’re on the move or at your desk. You can also stream the game on mobile devices and on your computer via the ITV website.

Under Eddie Jones, the Cherry Blossoms won three out of four group matches, including a famous victory over South Africa in Brighton.

And they will be favourites as they host Russia in this year’s opening match, with the Russians actually failing to make it through European qualifying – but qualified after two teams fielded ineligible players.

Finishing third in their group, the Russians qualified for the Rugby World Cup by default as both Spain and Romania were found guilty of fielding ineligible players.

Japan face Russia in Pool A in Rugby World Cup opener at Ajinomoto Stadium
Kick off at 11.45am UK time
Ireland, Samoa and Scotland also in the group
Watch live on ITV for FREE with a valid TV licence
Live stream on ITV Hub
Japan XV: Inagaki, Horie, Valu, Van der Walt, Moore, Leitch, Labuschagne, Himeno,Nagare, Tamura, Lemeki, Nakamura, Lafaele, Matsushima, Tupou

Russia XV: Morozov, Selskii, Gotovtsev, Ostrikov, Fedotko, Zhivatov, Gadzhiev, Vavilin, Dorofeev, Kushnarev, Golosnitskiy, Gerasimov, Ostroushko, Davydov, Artemyev

Who is playing and what are the pools?
There are 20 teams competing in Japan and they are divided into four pools, with the top two progressing to the quarter-finals.

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Russia, Samoa

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Namibia, Canada

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, United States, Tonga

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Uruguay

The favourites
New Zealand 5/4

South Africa 4/1

England 4/1

Ireland 9/1

Wales 9/1

Australia 12/1

France 33/1

Argentina 40/1

Scotland 50/1

Japan 150/1